Betavine Social Exchange – crowdsourcing

April 1, 2009

I really would like to crowdsource the requirements, at least the review, correction, addition to the requirements of the Betavine Social Exchange.

I have been given a page on Living Labs in Southern Africa website to post the requirements – this is a great opportunity to engage NGOs in South Africa as the LLiSA community already has members who are NGOs or NPOs (non-profit organisations).  Also, I met some very passionate people connected with the living labs in South Africa in February.

My page is in the Industrial Stakeholders section and is called Vodafone Betavine Social Exchange.  I still have a bit of work to do on the requirements but hope to post them on the weekend.  Once up on the LLiSA site I will outline them in a post and try to get some comments.

llisa-bsx-page1

One issue I have realised about crowdsourcing is that within my team I can dictate the deadline but that is not so easy when crowdsourcing, I will need to do a lot of work to get the message out so that a percentage of those who read the blog actually comment on it.  I read somewhere, “Innovation happens Elsewhere” I think it was, that open source software projects can take more time and cost more that conventional software projects.  Clearly, there are many good reasons to open source software – see Symbian Foundation , for example – but it is not a free lunch.

So, will it take longer to resolve a consistent and implementable set of requirements via crowdsourcing that more conventional routes?  We will see.

Leave a Reply

